Right place, right time

She probably doesn’t think she was in the right place at the right time, but she was.

We’re in the midst of one of our trap/neuter/return (TNR) weeks and last night one of the transporters brought in a young black cat in a trap, that we now know to be female. As I took the sheet off of her trap to get a look at her and do paperwork, my adrenaline spiked. Her left eye was a disaster area, with all kinds of yucky-colored fluids flowing out, though no blood. Her eye looked almost sunken in her head. I’m no vet, but I was pretty sure this was bad.

P1020627

 

We have a great vet who was kind enough to talk to us at night, even after her long day. She asked a lot of questions, and I gave the answers as best I could. This was bad, but it wasn’t a life or death emergency, and it could wait until morning. The vet recommended some pain meds for the overnight, however, and we had them on hand.

I’ve given a lot of cats meds in my life, but not too many of them have been feral. Giving meds to a feral cat who is, first of all, completely terrified from having been trapped, and secondly, is in a lot of pain and misery, is…shall we say…challenging. But with the help of another group member, we got it done. We gave her food and water for the night, and some nice fleece to curl up in, and covered her trap with blankets to keep her warm, and said good night.

I woke about 3 am still thinking about the poor creature. We weren’t sure if this was a pre-existing condition or something that happened to her – God forbid- in the process of being trapped. I didn’t see any crusting on the wounded eye, so I was pretty sure the wound was fresh. It happens rarely, but once in a great while a cat is so terrified on being trapped that they hurt themselves flailing around. I was worried that we had, inadvertently, been the source of her injury and pain.

Another kind member of our group took her to the vet’s office in the morning, and it turns out that some other creature, a four-legged one and not us, was the source of her misery. Someone took a really good swipe at her eye. It is trying to heal with all that green and yellow puss and misery, and it may heal. It may not. She may lose it. Only time will tell.

 

P1020629

 

In the meantime, she is going to be staying in our guest room, and hopefully moved into a dog crate tomorrow to give her more space. And I get to practice my skills at putting drops in the eye of a feral cat. It turns out that if you don’t try to scruff her or mess with her in any way, she will let you drop the stuff in her eyes. We’ve come to an agreement about the drops, it seems.

Hopefully she will heal up, or the vet will remove the eye and help her heal that way, and eventually we will get her neutered too. When we’re not trying to put drops in her eyes she is actually pretty calm, and may even be semi-friendly. She’s pretty scared at the moment, but she’ll probably adjust quickly. I don’t know if she’ll ever know how lucky she was to be trapped last night. Without being trapped that eye would have become even more infected and her future uncertain. She was in the right place at the right time last night, even if it doesn’t look like that to her at the moment. We’ll offer her our best hospitality while she is with us, and hope the healing, for her sake, is quick.

17 thoughts on “Right place, right time

  1. Poor sweet darling…but to have people who can help her is so wonderful..i can’t imagine my babies being scared and alone and hurt..i hope she heals well and gets a second chance Hugs to her Fozziemum

  2. Sweet baby girl……………I have been thinking of her all week!

  3. So reminds me of my Morgan. She was picked up as a stray with a very bad eye infection. She lost the eye. She also was in the right place at the right time. I saw her at the shelter when I dropped off towels and convinced that no one else would adopt her, she came home with me and as they say, the rest is history. She is a fabulous cat and very easy to handle — more so than one of my other cats. Good luck to her and she is in good hands. If I was a sick cat, I would want to be in your special bedroom.

    • Oh, what a great story about Morgan. She is lucky you found her at the right time and place too!

  4. Your compassion for these little ones encourages and uplifts me. Sending good energy for all of you as you care for her.

  5. Lucky she has Angels like you.

  6. I wish the best for her.

  7. alison&animals

    awesome work – again!

  8. […] of all, an update on Blackie for those of you who read my first report on her last week.  Her eye is improving. It has a ways to go yet, but the vet still hopes to save […]

Comments are closed.