The Blessing of Annie: Patience

A waiting person is a patient person. The word patience means the willingness to stay where we are and live the situation out to the full in the belief that something hidden there will manifest itself to us.”
Henri J.M. Nouwen

 

Annie hiding

 

Patience is not something most people would associate with me. I like things to be done, done right, and done quickly. Off the “to-do” list, and I’m on to the next item. A useful skill in the business world, but not so much when you’re working with raising a feral cat. Little feral Annie doesn’t give a damn that I want her to like me, to climb on my lap and let me pet her. It’s Annie’s way or the highway, from her perspective.  For much of the last year, she has chosen to hide.  The cubby above is one of her favorites. And I have waited, not terribly patiently, hoping that she will climb out of her hiding places and be more Annie in front of the world.

And the other night it happened.

Annie

This isn’t a great photo, but it is remarkable. Annie is always in or under something, never on something out in the open, but there she was the other night. On the sofa, no hiding. Amazing.

She has been experimenting lately with coming nearer to me and my husband. She’ll brush the chair I’m siting in. Every evening she comes to eat some kibble from my hand. She spends a lot of time watching me and the distance at which she watches gets closer every week. She even sniffs my hand now when I extend it, rather than running away. She knows I won’t pet her until she invites me, and she hasn’t invited me yet. She does, however, allow a pet or two when we put down her food in the morning. We’ve struck that bargain and she seems okay with it. This evening she was even chasing a catnip pillow around in the living room, entertaining herself out where everyone could watch.

And so we wait patiently for little miss Annie to manifest herself to the world. Little by little, our teacher of patience rewards us by showing more of herself.

Annie

Someday, maybe she will even climb in my lap and let me pet her like the other cats. Maybe. I’m waiting, and trying to be patient.

9 thoughts on “The Blessing of Annie: Patience

  1. Love the quote! Love Annie! Mr. Bowie says “Meow!”

  2. Baby steps for huge rewards…such a sweet little darling 🙂 hugs Fozziemum xx

  3. Hazel, age 8 has never voluntarily climbed in any lap. The best I get is when she climbs onto the sofa and sits next to me for what seems like minutes before something terrifies her and off she goes. On the other hand I have two that argue for my lap.

    • I have 3 that argue for my lap as well, so maybe it is a good thing that Annie isn’t interested right now!

  4. It’s funny with cats. I’ve had some feral cats who act like they have always loved the two-legged ones and if I go out for a walk they are right there beside me. Others disappear if they see me. I hope that Annie lets you in soon.

Comments are closed.