In Memoriam: Thomas

As Marley and I waited and watched Thomas over the last couple days, the path became clear, as it often does. One of the theories for Thomas’s partial facial paralysis was the existence of lesions or a brain tumor. We didn’t test for that since it would stress Thomas unduly, and while it would tell us what was up, the treatment was the same as he was getting. Over the last couple days Thomas went downhill quickly. Walking became more difficult, and he started walking in circles, confused and without direction or purpose. Medicines weren’t helping at all, and we didn’t want to see him suffer any longer. Today we took him in for that last visit to the vet’s office. He is usually very stressed being there, but I’m not sure he noticed much today.

2016 01 31_1141_edited-1

Thomas was only twelve years old, a young senior. Marley and I were remembering him and his two sisters as little babies romping around a room in the house I lived in back then. Our most senior cat, Gabi, who had been an absolute hellion as a young kitten and cat, turned into Mother Superior with the three kittens, caring for them and being mother. It was very sweet.

Thomas has always been a very mellow boy, easy going and gentle. Annie, our little feral, has been his shadow for the last few years, and the next while will probably be very difficult for her.

2016 02 22_1752_edited-1

With so many cats in the house, we have the territory-aware contingent, always working to protect their turf, but Thomas never engaged in turf wars, and was loved by all.

2016 03 25_1961_edited-1

Thomas loved heights. Sleeping on top of the DVR or on top of the cabinets in the bathroom were some of his favorite spots. Maybe he loved looking down on all of us, just out of reach.

2016 01 02_1049_edited-2

Thomas

He loved sitting next to me in an easy chair while I watched TV as well. That was one of my favorite times with him, one of our special times together most days. He was a purring machine, and sitting with him, petting him, listening to him purr while I watched TV, perhaps with a glass of wine, was one of the more relaxing aspects of many of my days. I will miss that…and him. He was a cuddle bug extraordinaire.

In the last few days, Thomas sought out warm places, though they had to be low to the ground. Getting up on things was very difficult for him. Warm beds were his friends over the weekend, and he slept probably 23 hours a day.

Rest in peace, sweet boy. I hope you find a nice warm radiator to sleep on and jump from on the other side of the rainbow bridge. We will miss you.

Thomas

 

33 thoughts on “In Memoriam: Thomas

  1. I’m so sorry to read this sad news. This warm tribute moved me to tears. Thomas was a beautiful cat, ‘a sweet boy’. Please cherish the beautiful memories of Thomas in your heart. My thoughts are with you, my friend.

    1. Thanks, Herman. Thomas was a wonderful cat, and we do, indeed, cherish the memories of our time with him.

  2. So sorry to read this. My heartfelt condolences to you and Marley. No matter how long are beloved furry friends are with us, it’s never long enough. This is a sweet tribute to your boy. RIP Thomas.

  3. Goodbye Thomas. I am so sorry. I can feel your pain in my throat. You have had a lot of loss in the past year or so. I hope Annie adjusts well. Beautiful tribute for a wonderful cat.

    1. Yeah, three animals lost in the last 7 months or so has been a lot. Hoping not to have to do that again for awhile.

      1. I hear you. My older cats are a few months apart. Both are bumping 12. While that’s young it’s also when some chronic illnesses start. Jake was 9 when he was diagnosed with diabetes. Hugs to Annie.

    1. Thank you. It will be interesting to see if Annie turn to us a little more with her security blanket gone…time will tell.

  4. These situations are always difficult, but cherish all those happy times. Thomas is now at peace and probably loving it! He is also probably hoping that you will focus on the times when he made you smile, made you relax, and allowed you to enjoy your glass of wine. He is probably still purring at those times you had together. Be happy that you gave him a loving home, and that he is now free of pain. R.I.P. Thomas.

  5. So sorry for your loss and you made the right decision to let him go in peace. Thank you for sharing your beautiful tribute and you did right by him. RIP sweet Thomas.

  6. Rest in peace, sweet Thomas. I hope you meet up with my little Kitty. She was a bit younger than you but a gentle soul, also. I am so very sorry.

  7. Such a handsome boy and a purr-bucket, too. I’m sorry for your loss. It never gets easier, does it? It’s the worst part of pet ownership, you lease them your heart. We must be grateful for their companionship while we have it. Blessings.

Comments are closed.